Ireland’s Wild Atlantic Way on the outer edge of Europe stretches along the west coast of Ireland. It begins on the Inishowen Peninsula in Co. Donegal and goes through the counties Leitrim, Sligo, Mayo, Galway, Clare, Limerick and Kerry, finishing in Kinsale, County Cork. The route which is over 1600 miles (2600 km) long is divided into 14 stages for easier orientation:

Malin Head

Inishowen Halbinsel

– Muff to Letterkenny –

Fanad Head Lighthouse

Fanad Head

– Letterkenny to Bunbeg –

Slieve League

Slieve League Coast

– Bunbeg to Donegal Town –

Classiebawn Castle and Ben Bulben

Donegal Bay and Sligo

– Donegal Town to Ballina –

Downpatrick Head


– Ballina to Belmullet –

Keem Strand

Achill Island and Clew Bay

– Belmullet to Westport –

Killary Harbour

Killary Harbour

– Westport to Clifden –



– Clifden to Galway –

Cliffs of Moher

The Burren and West Clare

– Galway to Kilkee –

Kilkee Cliffs

The Shannon Estuary

– Kilkee to Tralee –

Blasket Sound

Dingle Peninsula

– Tralee to Castlemaine –

Ring Of Kerry

Ring of Kerry

– Castlemaine to Kenmare –

Dursey Island

Beara and Sheep’s Head

– Kenmare to Durrus –

Baltimore Beacon

West Cork

– Durrus to Kinsale –

15 wonders of the Wild Atlantic Way - the "Signature Points"...

Along the Wild Atlantic Way there are numerous discovery points. Fifteen of these discovery points have been designated as “Signature Points”. Special points that characterise Ireland’s west coast due to their uniqueness. These “Signature Points” are: